top of page
Search

The Reloved Rabbit Behind Reloved Rabbit Co.

Updated: Dec 14, 2019

The story story of the lucky rabbit that become the namesake of a small refurbishing businesses.

This is a picture of my pet rabbit, Oswald Copplehop. Like any pet owner, I am obsessed with my pet. When thinking of names for my website, I kept coming back to how the story of my pet rabbit was connected to the the feelings and ideas I wanted to express through this business, so it made perfect sense to name the website in his honor.


Having just graduated from James Madison University and living alone for the first time in a small apartment on the outskirts of town, I was in desperate need of companionship in the form of a small furry creature. Being allergic to cats and not having the recreational space required for a dog, I did my research on a cute and quiet alternative, rabbits!


After months of researching the diets and habit needs of these small creatures I was ready to make the leap. I scoured the county fair for the perfect companion, but many had been scooped and carried home to local farms and families. I was also disgruntled at the business of it all, breeding multitude of rabbits with little care about their well being once they were off and sold. Wasn't there a better way?


Feeling lost, I began to search at pet shelters to see if there were any former pets in need of a new home. While there are plenty of dogs and cats to spare, rabbits are a more rare occurrence in shelters like the R-SPCA, but to my luck they had two that needed homes! I examined their online profiles (feeling like I was about to go on a first date) and made my selection. A small brown bunny named Chewy that loved attention was going to be my new roommate.


By the time I got there, Chewy had been adopted.


All that was left was a shy and grumpy little rabbit named Oswald Copplehop. Black and white with a tear in his ear from getting attacked by an aggressive rabbit and skittish after being almost eaten by a dog, this was not the loving creature I was imaging to be my first post-grad pet. I decided to give him a visit and see how things worked out. I took him out of his pen and sat down with him, and he promptly hopped away to the farthest corner of the room to allude attention.


Not a great first impression.


Despite the awkward first encounter, I was so tired of being alone in my apartment that I took the little guy home with me. Hopefully things would work out and he will be the cuddly bunny of my dreams. If it didn't work out, I figured, I could always take him back.


As days grew to weeks, and then to months and then to years, Oswald has grown more and more social and has been more inclined to seek attention than to run away like he did that first day. Although he is not as cuddly as I might have liked, he brings me so much joy, companionship and laughter that I couldn't have imagined and I cringe at the thought that I was ever willing to give him up.


Reloving this rabbit who had been overlooked by many families and almost myself, I could have missed out on an amazing opportunity and everyday I am astounded at what a little love and attention can do. This experience has helped me open my eyes to new possibilities and I continue to look for overlooked things that could use a little love. You just never know what a little work can achieve and I am excited to share and inspire others to seek and find things to relove themselves.


Has your pet inspired you? Tell me about it in the comments!


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page